For inquiries, please call: 1-877-464-9329

Liver Disease Awareness: Stages of Liver Damage

Liver Disease Awareness: Stages of Liver Damage

The liver is an organ that helps in our metabolism. It is one of the largest organs in the human body and weighs about 1.4 kilograms. It has over five hundred different tasks, but its primary functions are cleaning the blood, producing bile, and storing energy in the form of glycogen – a type of sugar.

There are many types of liver diseases but will likely progress similarly. As care providers in Indiana, we will break down the stages of liver damages in a simple way.

  • Stage one: Inflammation
    When your liver starts having inflammation, it will feel hot and painful. Your liver can regenerate in time, and it can still repair itself during this stage.
  • Stage two: Fibrosis
    Scars will start to appear when inflammations continue. Your liver will work double-time performing its functions, as scarred tissues do not perform as healthy tissues can. Medical treatment can still work at this stage, and your liver will have a chance to recover.
  • Stage three: Cirrhosis
    At this point, your healthy liver tissues will become hard scars that do not work its functions anymore. Your treatment will focus on stopping the progression of the scarring and keeping the condition from worsening. Your skin and eyes may appear yellow or what we call jaundice, and you may also start having complications.
  • Stage four: Liver Failure
    Your liver will now lose its functions completely. Liver failure can be chronic or acute and requires serious medical attention and some personal care. You can consider a transplant if possible.

Care Hospice Services LLC offers a compassionate service from a hospice Indiana can trust. For us, life is precious. Each moment matters.

For hospice care in Carmel, Indiana, call us at 317-214-9459.

This entry was posted in Liver Disease Awareness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *